Thursday, July 20, 2017

Review: Fractures in Ink






Title: Fractures in Ink 
Author: Helena Hunting
Publisher: Everafter Romance
Format: Ebook
Pages: 269 pages
Date Published: November 14th 2016
Date Read: Feb. 3rd through 4th, 2017
Series: Clipped Wings #3
ISBN #:B01KMN3UYW

Sometimes the things we shouldn't want become exactly what we need...

Waitressing at a seedy strip club isn't ideal, but it pays Sarah Adamson's tuition. Her goal is to finish her master's program and get a job that doesn't involve tight skirts and groping hands. She doesn't need distractions. Especially not the one that comes in the form of a hot-as-sin tattoo artist who works across the street from her apartment.

Kicked out at sixteen, and a high school dropout, Chris Zelter is familiar with wanting things he can't have. His fractured life has never been easy. As the product of someone else's bad decisions, he knows exactly what happens when the wrong person controls your marionette strings. Now an accomplished tattoo artist in a renowned studio in Chicago, Chris has it together.

Mostly.

Apart from his infatuation with Sarah. She's way out of his league, and Chris knows it.
But he's willing to be her bad decision. At least for now






 Fractures in Ink, hmm how can I sum up how amazing this book and the whole series really is, I don't know but I'm going to give it a shot. I finished this book in one day! Fractures in Ink's main characters are two of the secondary characters from the first two books and their story was one that as I read the first two I was hoping she would write their story as well.

I was so happy when I realized that this book was Sarah's and Chris's story. To see/read more of their backstories and get to know them more as the main characters was great and I really loved getting to know more about Sarah herself. Getting to read why she chose the job that she did and also getting to know more about the other characters backgrounds in this book as well, really made me love it even more.

There really isn't much more that I can say about the writing style of this book that I haven't already said in other reviews of this series. I loved reading every single word of this book and all the others. I must say the dynamic is so different between Sarah and Chris than it is between Tenley and  Hayden. Which grabbed my attention right away, amongst so many other things about this book. 

If you haven't read any of author Helena Hunting's books, it's a must. Especially if you enjoy something different and books that showcase two people that have crazy pasts but connect with each other.





I'm giving Fractures in Ink an Ali's Bookshelf...









Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above is one that I bought for myself. I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Review: Inked Armor




Title: Inked Armor 
Author: Helena Hunting
Publisher: Gallery Books
Format: Ebook
Pages: 368 Pages
Date Published: May 13th 2014
Date Read: Jan. 18th through Jan. 25th
ISBN #: 1476764301

 In this follow-up to Clipped Wings, the emotional love story continues between Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

In the wake of losing Tenley Page, tattooist Hayden Stryker's tumultuous past is haunting him. Plagued by nightmares about the murder of his parents, Hayden reaches out again to Tenley. Having run from the man she doesn't believe she deserves, Tenley finally lays her guilt to rest. Despite their intense physical attraction, Hayden and Tenley struggle to repair their fragile emotional connection. As Hayden gets closer to the truth, he must find a way to reconcile his guilt over his parents' death in order to keep the woman who finally cracked his armor, and found her way into his heart.





Inked Armor is the second book in the Clipped Wings series and just like the first book I loved reading this one. It's actually the conclusion to the duo. Though there is another book in the series. Which I'll be reviewing later on this week.

The plot of this story and characters were both a large part of why I loved this story so much. The characters are so easy to root for and you just want them to finally work things out. You get to see more of Tenley's past in this book and I really enjoyed that part. Yes there is a bad guy and one that I wanted to punch in his face a few times, but that just made this book even better than the first.

The writing style that author Helena Hunting writes in is perfection. A fast and easy read that will have you laughing and crying all the way through. Best thing about this book is that I didn't want it to end. I want more of this cast of characters!  Really enjoyed the dynamic between all the friends and family throughout this whole series. Everyone is so different with crazy pasts and that just draws you in even more as a reader. Again I really connected with Tenley in this book, just as much, if not more than I did in the first. Her past is crazy and full of so much sorrow, but I'm so happy with what happened in this book to get her through it. She's so much stronger than she thought in the beginning.

All in all Inked Armor is a great book for someone who loved the first book in the series. It's not like most second book in a series, this one could carry it's own weight and did an amazing job doing so. I can't wait to read more from this author in the future and I know each book of her's will be amazing!






For Inked Armor I'm going to give it an Ali's Bookshelf...

 









Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. The book above was one that I bought for myself. I also use Amazon Affiliate links at times.







Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Review: Clipped Wings




Title: Clipped Wings 
Author: Helena Hunting 
Publisher: Gallery Books
Format: Ebook
Pages: 391 Pages
Date Published: March 4th 2014
Date Read: Jan. 2nd - 4th
ISBN #: 1476764298

 An emotional love story that follows the touch-and-go relationship of Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

As Hayden and Tenley navigate their newfound but slightly unstable relationship, they want to trust each other, but Hayden is hiding a dark and shameful past that he doesn't ever want Tenley to find out about. And Tenley has secrets of her own that could make Hayden run away forever. When Tenley asks Hayden to put a beautifully elaborate tattoo across her back, the two form what they thought was an unshakeable bond. But when Tenley's past shows up on her doorstep, will Hayden stand by her side...or run?










 Let's start off this review by saying that I devourered this book, actually I devourered the whole series. With that being said, let's talk about the book. Clipped Wings is one of my all time favorite stories, it started as a fan fiction, yes I know the problems people have with these books and honestly I don't really care. I enjoyed this one so much that it only took me a few days to finish.

The plot is one that really pulled me in and didn't let me go, even now after it's been so long since I read the book, I can still fall right back into the storyline and love it just as much. The plot was one that was very believable and one that at times made me cry, honestly I went through at least two boxes of tissues reading this whole series.

Author Helena Hunting is one that I would love to read everything she writes and probably will. Her writing style is one that's easy to read, but one that paints you a picture as you read. The ending wasn't one that I saw coming and made me want to jump right into the next book, which of course I did right away.

I really connected with the main character Tenley, no I couldn't understand exactly what she had gone through, but at the same time with my past could connect to some of it. With me being an Fire Fighter before, I could tell she really did her research when it came to the past of Tenley. No she wasn't a fire fighter but if you read this book, you'll understand what I mean.  I don't want to give anything about the story away, I don't like spoilers, but this story is one I'll never forget and will more than likely read a few more times.

Clipped Wings, well the whole series really, is one that I will recommend to others and actualy have already. If you're looking for a story that draws you in right away, but leaves a few little mysterious pieces for you to figure out and try to connect the dots through the whole series until the end, then this is perfect book for you.

There is a bit of a cliff hanger at the end of this book, fair warning, but if you're like me and already had the next book, which I recommend doing, then you'll be fine with it.  All in all Clipped Wings is a fantastic book that I think you'll love as much as I do.






 

For Clipped Wings I would have to give it an...





 Here at Ali's Bookshelf we accept books in exchange for a honest review. Clipped Wings is one that I bought for myself. 









Teaser Tuesday #112



Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Books and a Beat. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:


  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other Teaser Tuesday participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teaser


Despite her determination to soldier on through everything that was happening, an odd sense of panic welled up as she reached the edge of town. Pulling over just beyond the sign that said Welcome to Whiskey Creek, The Heart of Gold Country she tried to get hold of herself but almost turned her Acura around. 





I love this series so much! I can't wait to read more of this one. 






 

Monday, July 17, 2017

Cover Reveal: Any Way You Spin It




Any Way You Spin it
By Monique McDonell


Sometimes you must accept that love doesn’t always show up at your convenience.
Minnie has made mistakes and lots of them. Fresh out of rehab and back in her home town her plan is simple; she needs to make amends to all the people she hurt, especially her children, and get her life back on track. She has no room in her life for men – it was because of men she got in this mess in the first place.
The minute former athlete and current bar owner, Mitch sees Minnie he knows she’s something special. Now all he needs to do is convince her and the whole town that their being together will not undo everything she’s working so hard to achieve.
With all the obstacles to her success can Mitch prove he’s not just one more thing in the way.
If you like long bike rides, picnics by the lake and truffle fries then Any Way You Spin It is for you.


Available on Amazon

Snippet #1
Mitch knew it was just a coincidence he’d run into Min. She was one of a handful of people he’d run into today. Moose had jogged past him at the park and invited him to dinner tomorrow night. He’d stopped to get gas and Dave the local policeman was at the other pump and when he’d gone into the diner half the town had been there. And he may have heard Mins name mentioned in whispers more than once. Patty had been holding court with her gaggle of minions. Running into the beautiful woman seated beside him improving the look of his truck exponentially was not destiny, even if it felt like it.
All she’d bought was a small block of cheese. Clearly, she was planning to do something with it.
“What’s the cheese for?’
“Meatballs and spaghetti.” His stomach, the betraying bastard groaned. “I gather you like meatballs.”
“I do. They’re a classic.”
“I’m going to have extra. I’ll drop some over.”
“You don’t need to do that.” His stomach rolled again.
“To say thanks for the bike, and the lift home.” Large raindrops were pelting the windshield now. “I’m pretty happy not to be walking in this.”
He looked over at her. She was looking at him with those baby blues so he couldn’t resist.  “Okay, but how about you eat it with me? It’s kind of sad for us each to be eating alone.”
“Okay. I’ll just come down the hall when I’m done.” The town wasn’t big so he pulled the truck up outside the building minutes later. He stopped under the portico so she could exit without getting wet.
He watched her go, her perfect pear-shaped butt heading in the door and up the stairs. He knew he shouldn’t be looking at that butt or wanting that woman but knowing didn’t stop it from being so.



Snippet #2

Did you get lost again, you live down the hall.”
“No, I brought you some fries.”
“You brought me fries?”
“Truffle fries actually. Sarah said you kind of moaned when she mentioned my truffle fries earlier.”
“She said I moaned about you?’
“About my fries. So, I brought them and myself to your door.”
“Well come on in then, although I don’t recall moaning.” She absolutely did, but he didn’t need to know that.
“Maybe you smiled. I’d rather make you moan than smile, but I’ll take either.”
“And I’ll take the fries.” She held out her hand so he could pass them over.
She lifted one from the bag and took a bite of the crunchy salty goodness and then she really did moan. “Okay mission accomplished, you made me moan, you can leave happy now.”










I am an Australian author who writes contemporary women's fiction including chick lit and romance.
I have written all my life especially as a child when I loved to write short stories and poetry. At University I studied Creative Writing as part of my Communication degree. Afterwards I was busy working in public relations I didn't write for pleasure for quite a few years although I wrote many media releases, brochures and newsletters. (And I still do in my day-job!)

When I began to write again I noticed a trend - writing dark unhappy stories made me unhappy. So I made a decision to write a novel with a happy ending and I have been writing happy stories ever since.
I am the author of five stand alone novels including Mr. Right and Other Mongrels and Hearts Afire and the Upper Crust Series. Many of my novels focus on an Australian characters meeting and visiting US characters.
I have been a member of the writing group The Writer’s Dozen for ten years. Our anthology Better Than Chocolate raised over $10,000 for the charity Room to Read and helped build a library in South East Asia. I am also a member of the Romance Writers of Australia. In 2015 had a piece on writing chicklit featured in the successful Australian non-fiction book Copyfight.
I live on Sydney's Northern Beaches with my husband and daughter.
To learn more about my writing, my caffeine obsession and my upcoming books please visit  www.moniquemcdonell.com.au



Social Media:

Website - http://moniquemcdonell.weebly.com/
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/MoniqueMcDonellAuthor
Twitter - https://twitter.com/MoniqueMcDonell
Blog - http://moniquemcdonell.weebly.com/blog.html

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
 

Archive

This Blog is Protected..

myfreecopyright.com registered & protected

Blogoversary

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

My Beautiful Blog was Designed by...

Ali's Bookshelf © 2011-present